current
archives
profile
rings
host
image
design

Marriage is love.

DISCLAIMER, PLEASE READ!

Banners, some thoughts and other stuff...
03-21-06 - 7:15 a.m.


Feeling: anxious

Watching: The Fairly Oddparents

Thinking: I hope the shuttle is on time.


I'm seeing a lot of new banners up lately. I don't know why I'm mentioning that. It's obviously because of that double banner weekend. I wasn't going to buy anymore banners. To be honest, I like that my diary is semi-private and not very popular. It makes me feel like I can write something a bit private without feeling like all of Diaryland is going to read my diary, but I can still keep it public for those who happen to stumble across it. However, I do sometimes have a reason to want people to read and 50,000 banner views for the price of 25,000 is hard to pass up.

I actually do have something to advertise too and that is my new diary ring, cute-n-funny (I have another ring for Simpson's creator Matt Groening). It's for people who are attracted to funny individuals and I know there are a lot of you out there. You can find the link on my links/listings/ring page (click where it says "and" in the ring menu if you're inclined to do so) ;)

You know, I've been thinking about all the Brokeback Mountain parodies out there. As I watch them, thinking that they are funny in their own way and, for the most part, un-offensive, I can't help but think that if this was a love story between a man and a woman there wouldn't be any parodies. That movie was a serious and tragic look at two people in love who couldn't be together because of society's backwards views. It is drama and there is no mocking or degrading of the gay lifestyle, however people can't help making fun of the subject. I think that as far as gay rights go, things have come a long way. The situation in Brokeback Mountain used to be all too common, but now a relationship between 2 people of the same gender is generally more accepted and people don't have to hide their love like they used to. However, there are places where it is still a problem, and I think that we still have a while before society accepts that there is no reason to condemn, or make fun of, anyone for being in love, regardless of with whom they are in love.

Some pepople might be saying, what's the big deal with the paraodies, it's not like we are being malicious or beating up gay people. No and I don't think it is as bad, but once again, it wouldn't occur if the couple was straight. It's something that people don't understand, it is strange to them, and therefore they make fun of it.

So those are my thoughts on that.

Ok, I am going to completely change the subject now....

THREE DAYS TILL THE CONVENTION!!!!! Yeah, I can shout in my diary, ha!

I don't think I said I was hoping I'd have my braces off before this con, but no such luck. I don't get them off till April. Oh well.

I am hoping to get pics with Amanda, Beau Bridges and Thor (yes, the puppet that they use for Thor, how cool!). However, I don't know if they will be sold out when I get there. Hopefully they won't be.

My Dad just called to say he wants me to use a shuttle to get to the airport. He was going to give us a ride originally, but I guess it is hard for him. I don't really want to take a shuttle, but I will so that he doesn't have to waste gas or worry about where to drop us off. He said he would take us if the shuttle was too expensive or something, but we will probably go that route. I am going to leave at like 8 in the morning. I don't want anything to go wrong.

Well I guess that's it for now.

yesterday - tomorrow