current
archives
profile
rings
host
image
design

Marriage is love.

DISCLAIMER, PLEASE READ!

Across The Universe... Awesome movie, go see it!!!
09-26-07 - 4:48 p.m.


Feeling: happy


Thinking: Tomorrow is going to be so fun!

Ok, I saw "Across The Universe" on the 21st, and again yesterday. I LOVE LOVE LOVE that movie! OH MY GOD!! I am going to see it again tomorrow. YAY! If you love musicals, unique films, and/or the Beatles, you will at least like this movie, and you will probably love it! Lucy and I are both into this movie. We have not been this into a movie together since "Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers". I love being into a movie together, it's so fun, because we always want to go see the same movie and we don't have to worry about when eachother's movie gets out (like if we were both into a different movie or something). I still love DD of course, but ATU is right up there. That's right, I now have 2 fave movies.

My favorite characters in order are Prudence, Lucy, Max, Jude, Jo Jo, and Sadie. They are all very cool, of course, but for various reasons that is the order for me.

As for singing voices, my order is Lucy, Prudence, Jo Jo, Jude, Max and Sadie. Again, they all have great voices though.

Geez that is an awesome movie. I mean you think ok, a musical based on Beatles songs, how can you go wrong? But they could have. I mean it could have focused so much on the musical numbers that there was no plot, or the characters could have been not very well thought out. Neither of these things was the case. The music and the numbers are awesome, of course, but the actual story is very involved and the main (and good) characters are extremely likeable and well thought out. I think it would be cool to be friends with all those people. I think I would fit in well.

Speaking of the musical acts, however, my favorites are "Hey Jude", I've Just Seen A Face", "All You Need Is Love", "With A Little Help From My Friends", and "I Wanna Hold Your Hand". I also really like the choreography in "I Want You". They are all really good numbers. "Let It Be" is beautifully done, but very sad. I tear up in a few parts in that movie, but that is the only part where I am really crying.

some specific scenes I really love are when Max sees Jude after all this time and he runs over to him and hugs him. He was so depressed after all the Vietnam shit and you can just tell that he so needed to see his friend again. I also really love the end scene of course! That expression that Jude and Lucy have when they see eachother. Those are the faces of two people in love, baby!

Oh yeah, I liked when all the characters were singing "Dear Prudence" to Prudence too, and I like when she found that girl at the circus and she said "This is Rita, she's a contortionist". I thought that was cute, and I was glad that Prudence found someone. There were a lot of cool and funny Beatle's references too, like for "When I'm 64", "She Came In Through the Bathroom Window", "Maxwell's Silver Hammer", etc.

Oh, another scene I like, as far as funny scenes, but not references is when Max and Jude first meet Sadie. The part where she asks them if they are good with faces and they say, yeah why? and then Sadie says "Because your bathroom doesn't have a mirror". HA HA HA. I love that. Also, when they close the door and she can't here them and they are like, "man she is hot!" HA HA again! That is all so funny to me.

There are also some sad and touching and meaningful moments too, of course. That is what is great about this movie. It has everything!

Yeah, I am glad we are going to see it again. I also realized we saw it the first time possible, as far as wide release. We saw it at the first showing at our theater (1 pm) on the first day (the 21st) that it was in wide release. So that is pretty sweet.

Ok, I guess that's it for now :)

yesterday - tomorrow