current
archives
profile
rings
host
image
design

Marriage is love.

DISCLAIMER, PLEASE READ!

My Oscar rant
03-25-03 - 3:21 a.m.

MOOD - Annoyed

Ok, well let's talk about the Oscars shall we? *SIGH* Ok, well TTT was only up for like 5 awards as it is, and only 1 major award which was best picture. It only won 2 awards, which is good, but still I wish it won more. Only 1 was an award that was announced on air and that was best sound editing.

Of course my sis and I made a big deal when they announced it. We were screming and going woo hoo and all that LOL! It was pretty sad, but that's us and our LOTR obsession.

I am also annoyed at Chicago. Ok, I have never seen this movie so I can't realy judge it. Maybe it did deserve to win best picture. But I still have a prob. w/ this movie, and here's why...

First of all, everyone is talking like it is the first movie to make musicals popular. It isn't! Moulin Rouge is! Yeah, Chicago is the first "new" movie that was originally a musical on broadway (not made to be a movie) and had songs written specifically for the musical, but Moulin Rouge was still a musical and no matter what people say, it was the first movie to get people to like musicals again!

Also, the look of the movie was totally stolen from Moulin Rouge! Ok, true I have not seen it, but I have seen parts of it and seen the video for "All That Jazz" and it looks very VERY similar to another movie which I just mentioned. So, it really isn't a completely original idea. The filmakers knew that the look of MR was popular, and they took it! Yeah, it is not exactly like it, but similar enough for a person to notice.

Finally, a bunch of critics say that Chicago is better, but it stole ideas from MR! That right there I think makes it worse if it can't even have it's own style! I mean I know they say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery and all that, but if that's the case, then critics shouldn't flame the movie that is being flattered! As I said, I haven't seen Chicago, but I really don't see how it could be better than MR. Maybe it's because it has a hapy ending or something, but a sad ending doesn't make a movie bad, it just makes it diff. than a movie that has a happy ending. I really don't think I would like Chicago as much as MR anyway. And when you get down to it, the fact is MR was an original script, not taken from a broadway play, which makes the movie concept more creative. True the songs weren't original (except for 1), but that's it.

Like I say, maybe Chicago is a good movie, but I just have a prob w/ it cause of all of that.

Ok, I'm done ranting now. I don't have anything else to talk about at the moment, so that's all for now.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

yesterday - tomorrow