current
archives
profile
rings
host
image
design

Marriage is love.

DISCLAIMER, PLEASE READ!

Go Cali!
08-24-04 - 2:40 a.m.


Well first I would like to say that the scoring in gymnastics sucks! Geez I would never want to be a gymnast. I'd take running or swimming over that any day. At least you know for sure who is the winner in those events. There is no chance of you missing out on a medal because of some judge who decided to take 1/100000 of a point from you because you wobbled on the balance beam and there is no "start value" in those events. With that I am of course refering (sp?) to the whole Paul Hamm controversy about how he didn't really win the gold medal in the all-around because the Korean Yang Tae-young was scored w/ a start value of 9.9 when it should have been 10. I agree that it would be a nice gesture for Hamm to give up his medal, but I mean think of it from his point of view. You are the first American male ever to win a gymnastics all-around gold medal, and you won it after a great, almost flawless comeback, only to find out you might not have deserved it simply because of a 1/10th scoring error. Hamm is a human being and we don't always make the best choices. For that matter, the Koreans did have a chance to say something about the matter before the competition was over and they didn't. However, I can of course see their point of view too. How would it feel to know that you could have won gold and the only reason you didn't was because of some idiot judge who wasn't paying attention? One thing I will say is Tae-young may have actually made 2 mistakes anyway. Highlights on NBC showed that he had 4 holds on the parallel bars; you are only allowed 3. I forget his other deduction, but that would have been another, so if the judges had noticed that, which they didn't in the comp., Hamm still would have gotten the gold. So while we are complaining about scoring, if Tae-young had won the gold and none of the judges noticed his other mistake, Hamm could have gone to them and told them about the error in judgement and he would have won the gold anyway. W/ scoring the way it is in gymnastics it is so easy for mistakes to occur. I am not saying it is neccesarely (sp?) the right thing for Hamm to keep the medal, but I won't look down on him for keeping it because it may really be his. Bottom line for me though... I really don't like controversy and it occurs way too easily in gymnastics. Btw, one thing that would solve these kinds of problems... going back to starting everyone w/ a value of 10.

Anyway w/ all that out of the way now for the good stuff. First of all, the US woman's softball team won the gold! It was very cool because 14 team members are from california. I am so proud lol.

Also, remember how I said I had a little crush on MP? Well it's a bit bigger than I thought lol. This is weird, I've never had a crush on an athlete, let alone an Olympic gold medalist. Oh well, there's a first time for everything ;)

Ok, guess that's all for now. Bye!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

yesterday - tomorrow