current
archives
profile
rings
host
image
design

Marriage is love.

DISCLAIMER, PLEASE READ!

Pissed about the AAs!
02-28-05 - 8:19 a.m.


I am very tired, but I wanted to come on here to say that I am very pissed about the Academy Awards. There has been maybe 4 times in my lifetime (that's 17 Academy Awards!) where the person or movie that I wanted to win actually did and this was not one of those times. The only thing I wanted was for Leonardo Dicaprio to get the Oscar and of course he didn't; Jamie Foxx did. There are several reasons why I wanted LD to win. Don't get me wrong, I saw "Ray" and I thought JF did an excellent job. It's not that I don't think he deserved to win, I just think LD deserved to win more. First of all, both roles required a lot of emotion, but I don't see how anyone could argue that LD had to show more emotion and the more emotion that you have to show, the more difficult it is to act well. LD was convincing and belieavable through out and to me, the role just had more opportunities to really show emotional extremes. Secondly, although I am sure it is difficult to play a blind person convincingly, I am certain it is just as difficult to play a person w/ a mental disorder convincingly and believe me, LD's portrayal of a person suffering from Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (or OCD) was convincing. I know this because I have OCD. LD perfectly captured the frustration, fear, paranoia, etc. that you feel when you have this disorder. I think that if the majority of the Academy members had OCD, the Oscar would have been given to LD. Finally, the main reason I wanted LD to win is that he has been screwed over time and again..."Titanic", "Gangs Of New York", and "Catch Me If You Can" are just a few of the movies he has been in where he did a surperb acting job and yet was not even nominated. He is not taken seriously because he is a "pretty boy" and it frankly annoys the shit out of me. Speaking of that (and yes I know I'm ranting) why don't good looking actors ever win oscars until they play a role in which they are unattractive? Case in point, Nicole Kidman and Charlize Theron. Anyway, I know I'm getting off the subject. Back to what I was saying... JF will be in other movies where he will be deserving of an Oscar. He has only been in like 2 movies where dramatic acting was required. LD will be in other movies too of course, but god knows he won't win for those either. My point is that the Oscar should have gone to the person who had paid more dues and was just as deserving and that person was LD. At first I was saying they could give JF the Oscar for "Collateral" (nominated for best actor in a supporting role), but when I found out the award went to Morgan Freeman I changed my tune. I did not know that he had never won an oscar. God knows why he has been screwed over, but that was one thing I was glad about this time. I didn't realy mind the rest of the Oscars (although I would have liked to have seen "The Phantom of The Opera" win at least one award), but the one thing that I wanted didn't happen. Oh, just to make it clear I do not have a crush on LD and although I think he is an excellent actor, he is not listed in my top 10 so it's not like I am bias. I am just someone who recognises talent and is sick of seeing someone undeservingly being told (in so many ways) that they are not worthy of the title of actor.

Ok, I know I'm pathetic. I let things bother me too much, but that's me.

I guess that's all for now, bye.

yesterday - tomorrow