current
archives
profile
rings
host
image
design

Marriage is love.

DISCLAIMER, PLEASE READ!

back from the con... life goes on, hey, that rhymes ;)
04-11-06 - 10:48 p.m.


Feeling: good

Watching: Robot Chicken

Thinking: Robot Chicken is very amusing ;)


Yeah, can we say overdue! Obviously the con was awesome! We got to see the sets and I got to meet a lot of awesome people! Some people I had already met, and some I hadn't. I was most excited about meeting Amanda. She was so sweet and cool! I wrote about my experience meeting her on GW. The post is located here (my user name is Forestia). I decided to also put the gw post on here, just in case the one on gw gets erased or something, so here it is: Ok, as promised, here is my detailed account of meeting Amanda (because I know you have all been waiting for it ): First off, I have to say Amanda was awesome, as I knew she would be. She was funny, and cool, and meeting her was a great experience, as I'll talk about later. I didn't get a picture with her unfortunately because I didn't have enough money by the time I was going to buy it, but it was all still a great experience Anywho, I wanted to ask Sally's question about Jack and Sam, so I decided I was going to ask that. I also wanted to say some comments which I'll get to. So I went up there and she answered 2 people's questions and then went to me. I wished Olivia a late happy birthday and said that maybe Michael's kid and her kid could have birthday parties together because their birthdays are so close together and then she joked about how they could all save a lot of money if they had joint birthday parties. Then I thanked her for contributing the autographed pictures to the Gateworld party and that we appreciated it. I also told her that 2 people at my table won them. She said "my pleasure" and I think I was talking kind of fast, so I hope I didn't cut her off or sound rude. Then I decided to ask that question so I said something like "this is a question from a friend on Gateworld who couldn't be here, but I'm curious too and that is is there anything for Jack and Sam fans to look forward to in the future?" I heard the audience wooing and stuff lol. Then Amanda said "I could tell you, but I'd have to kill you" ha ha! So I could have said something witty here, but what did I do instead... I said something about how she could bring me back using technology... yes, hello, dork alert! I'll get to more of that later. Anyway, I was not exactly thinking clearly. So she said Spoiler: "there's a 5 word answer and a 3 word answer, I'll give you the 3 word answer... yes" then I think she said "the 5 word answer being maybe" or something to that effect. WOOOO HOOOOO!!!!! Ok, done so then after she told me she said "and now I have to kill you, everyone's expecting it" or something like that. I just laughed and said thank you and then went back to my seat, but I think I may have stood there a little too long, I don't know. I have trouble realizing how much time is going by when I get up there After I went back to my seat, I started thinking about what I said, and I was like 'some type of tecnology to bring me back'? What the F was that? Not to mention the fact that the whole point is she didn't want to bring me back... then I thought of something that I should have said and I decided I would tell her during the autograph session. So I listened to the rest of the Q&A and then it was time for autographs. I was in row E and it took a while to get to us, but finally we were up. So I waited... and waited... and waited... and... just kidding he he. It didn't actually take that long once the row was called. I brought a birthday card for Olivia and a thank you card for Amanda because I just wanted to tell her how much I respect her and appreciate what she does for the fans. When I got to her I said "When you said you'd have to kill me after I asked about Jack and Sam, I should have said 'at least I'd die for a good cause'". She laughed when I said that. I made Amanda laugh! Pretty cool Then I said "I have a card for Olivia. There are animal stickers in there, which I know she's too young to use of course, but I thought she might like to look at them". I think she said "sure, thank you". Then I gave her her card and said "I also have a card for you, it's a thank you card" and she said "thank you" and finally I said "and I was wondering if I could shake your hand". I didn't want to ask for a hug because I thought it might be too much trouble and I'm not the type of person who asks for hugs during the Q&A. So she said "of course" and she shook my hand, but then, and this was the best part... she stood up and actually gave me a hug! I have shaken Torri's and Michael's hands at other cons, but neither of them went and gave me a hug too! Not that there is anything wrong with that of course, but it's just she didn't have to do that. It was such a thoughtful gesture. After we hugged I said "thank you" and she said "thank you, it was nice meeting you" and I said "it was nice meeting you too" and went away. That has to be the best experience I've had so far meeting someone from Stargate. Amanda was just the sweetest person and I am so proud to be a fan of hers, and of Sam, as Amanda brings such a heart and great presence to the character. So that was my incredibly awesome experience that I will never forget and would never want to forget! By the way, I may not have gotten all of Amanda's quotes exactly right. I was a bit nervous, even though I try not to be, I usually am.

Meeting Amanda was the best thing. I wanted to get a pic with her, but I didn't get a chance because I wasn't sure I wanted pics (except for Thor) and when I realized I did want pics, it was too late to get one with Amanda. Lucy and I did get a pic with Thor, well the puppet that plays him anyway. It turned out really cool. We also got a pic with Beau Bridges and a complimentary pic in front of the Atlantis Stargate. Seeing the Stargate sets was my 2nd favorite thing about that con. That was so awesome! I took a lot of pics of course. I lost my memory card though, so I hope I find it soon. I'll post some pics on here when I find it. I'll probably post the professional pics before that however. Another cool thing about the con was that I got to meet some people from Gateworld, the message board I go on all the time. It was also cool going to Canada. It was my first time visiting another country.

Last Saturday, I went with Lucy, Mom and Wendy to see a play featuring a Native American woman talking about a day in a cafe in Oklahoma. The Cafe was called the All Nations Cafe. She talked a lot about Native American life and tradition as well as music, sci-fi, etc. She played several different characters and it was cool to see her change between them. She sang songs and played guitar as some of the characters too.

My Mom came over this morning to give us an easter basket and some candy. The basket had 2 toy bunnies for Lucy and me.

I went to my Dad's place today to mail out some figurines that I sold on Ebay. I made approx. $451.00 from the sales, but most of it is going to bills :p Oh well, that's life.

Ok, I guess that's it for now.

yesterday - tomorrow