current
archives
profile
rings
host
image
design

Marriage is love.

DISCLAIMER, PLEASE READ!

SG-1 (farewell), Atlantis, etc.
06-24-07 - 4:27 a.m.


Feeling: ok

Thinking: It's been a while


I did not realize how long it had been since my last entry. I found out that Scrubs is on right before 24 on Saturday night. That is one of my favorite shows right before one of Lucy's favorite shows. Pretty cool.

The last ep. of SG-1, Unending, was on Friday. I thought it was a good ep. I don't really feel like repeating what I said on Gateworld, so I'm just going to copy and paste the comments I made on there. I am posting not only my views on the ep., but also my views on the end of SG-1...

I actually thought it was a really good ep. It was not what I would call a milestone ep. That is, the Ori were not defeated or anything like that. However, it was an interesting scenario for the team to go through, and sort of symbolic of how long they have been together and how much they mean to eachother. The only thing I was frustrated about was that in the commercials on Sci-fi, they showed something with Jack, implying that he was in the last ep. That would have been cool if he was there, but that was not the case. Along those lines, as they were showing the team getting older, I kept thinking that Sam must have really wished Jack could be with her. I'm such a sap One thing that I thought was cool is how Sam wanted to play the cello. I used to play the violin in middle school, but my school closed the strings program, so I was never able to learn it well. I have always wanted to take it up again. I also liked the moment where Sam essentially said goodbye to Thor. I thought it was very touching. I did not cry at the end, but I did think it was an emotional moment, knowing that it was the last time we would see the team go through the gate, at least in new eps. Anyway, I have to say although it might not have been the exact ep. I would have hoped for, I was pleasantly satisfied.

I thought the end was very fitting. It felt like a good wrap up for the show, but it didn't feel like that was their last adventure. I was sad that I was about to watch the team go through the gate for the last time (at least in new eps.), but I couldn't help laughing when they all said "Indeed". I thought the use of all the quotes was rather reminiscent of Urgo ("never run with scissors"). I have come to be a big fan of SG-1 over the years. I am also one of the people who has enjoyed the later eps. almost as much as the earlier ones, so I am really going to miss not seeing new eps. However, I look forward to the movies and I am thankful for all the great memories and experiences I have had because of my love for Stargate SG-1. I also have to say I am glad I am a fan of Atlantis, because it is really going to help me cope with no longer seeing new SG-1 eps.

I remember the first time I saw SG-1, I was visiting my parents, and my dad had it on the tv. I watched 3 eps. in a row from season 4, and I remember thinking 'I have to keep watching this show'. I'd say I was hooked from that moment.

My favorite ep. has got to be "The Fifth Race". I love when we first see the Asgard, the dramatic buildup with the music, and I love the ending when Jack says "I think we're gonna be ok". It's just a great milestone ep.

As for characters, my favorite is Sam. I like that she is kind of a balance between Daniel and Jack. She has that compassion and ethical side to her, but she is also an excellent commander and soldier. Of course, she is also extremely intelligent and beautiful. I really respect Amanda and I'm thankful to her for helping to bring such a great character to life.

I am sad that there will be no more television eps. of SG-1. It does kind of feel like we are saying goodbye to friends. However, I look forward to the movies and anything else we might see that is SG-1 related.

Thank you to the cast and crew for a great time and for all that you have done to make us fans happy. I am very proud to be a Stargate fan!

So those are my thoughts. It's hard to believe it's actually over, but again, I am looking forward to the movies. I also found out that Sam is going to be coming to Atlantis and I am very happy and exited about that. If Carson comes back then all my favorite Stargate characters will be on Atlantis.

Speaking of Atlantis, the season finale, First Strike, was on Friday. I wll also paste my opinion of that ep. from the GW forum...

Well it was obviously not Teyla centric, but I still thought it was a pretty good ep. I actually like the new doctor, I mean it's not her fault that Carson is gone, but of course I still want him to come back. In the mean time, I am fond of Jewel Staite because I like Firefly, so I'm interested to see how she will portray that character. I must say she has grown up since Firefly too. Back to Teyla, well I have to mention what was imo the most notable moment and that was John comparing the team to The Fantastic Four. That was so cool! I totally do that, hee hee. That was funny, but kind of sad when Teyla didn't understand why John was Mr. Fantastic and she was The Invisible Woman. He needs to show them the comics, then she will know that that is not an insult. I think it would be very cool to be the Invisible Woman. Anyway, I always find it amusing when John's geek tendencies show through.

So there you go, I guess that's it for now.

yesterday - tomorrow