current
archives
profile
rings
host
image
design

Marriage is love.

DISCLAIMER, PLEASE READ!

Another year, another entry
01-01-08 - 9:07 p.m.


Feeling: not bad

Thinking: I gotta wash some clothes


Happy New Year!

Yeah, well I mean hopefully it is happy, eh? Lucy and I didn't do much, just had some snacks (fritos, cheetos, cheese dip, choc. chip cookies, and sparkling apple grape juice), then watched the ball drop as we counted down to the new year. We then proceeded to pop the party poppers and blow on those horns that roll out, then we put our arms around eachother and sang Auld Lang Syne. After which, we sat back down and proceeded with whatever it was we were doing before. Yeah, it is fun, but over pretty quickly and not that big of a deal. We still like to do that little celebration though, to get into things a bit. It's a tradition and I guess we do want to have the memory that we weren't just sitting on our butts, not caring that it is a new year. So yeah.

Got a fair amout to talk about this time around...

I was thinking about changing my diary name, but I am lazy. I don't really like chsturtle because it's so obscure. When I first created it, it meant something, but now it doesn't really and no one knows what it means. I don't feel much like changing my entries over to the new account, however, so I don't know if I will ever change it. I guess it's not that big of a deal. I mean I do love turtles and so what if people don't know what chs means. I don't know, maybe I'll change it some day. I'll have to see about my laziness.

This is so weird. I could have sworn I talked about my mom and Wendy coming over for the holidays; actually, I could have sworn I talked about the holidays, period, but I guess not, because I can't find an entry about it. Oh well, anyway, on the 22nd, Mom and Wendy came over to visit and we exchanged gifts. I also gave them some gifts to give to Marra, Adam and Anne. I can't remember everything I got, but some good things. They always get us good things. Marra gave us Barnes and Noble gift cards. I bought the Elf soundtrack, the DVD of Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy and the book "Encyclopedia of Unusual Sex practices" (yeah, I did say I was a sexual person). Lucy bought a book on Bob Dylan and I'm not sure what else because it hasn't come yet and she won't tell me what it is until it comes. I did a ceremony on the 22nd because that was Yule. Neither Lucy or I actually celebrate Christmas, however we have a tradition of opening stockings on the 25th. I got a lot of yummy candy and other cool things (some jewelry, etc.) from Lucy. We didn't go anywhere, but I called Dad and my Grandparents to wish them a merry Christmas. All in all, we had a pretty fun holiday.

There was a Futurama marathon on Adult Swim a couple of days ago. They are going to stop showing it (it's a travesty, I know!), so they played all the eps. back to back. I taped all of them, however I messed up on two when I forgot to check how much tape I had and it ran out. I had to pop in another tape real quick, but I only missed a little bit. It's kind of annoying that I won't be able to just watch those eps. all the way through, but at least I have them (or most of them). I also wanted to take out commercials and I did for most of the eps., but for the last 3 or four eps. I got so tired that I ended up falling asleep, so of course I taped commercials. Oh well, again, at least I have the eps. I want to eventually get the season DVDs, but in the mean time, I'm glad I have the tapes.

Speaking of Futurama, I really want to get "Bender's Big Score". I got it for my Dad for Christmas, but now I'd like to get it for myself and Lucy. I have the money this month, so I'm sure I'll get a chance to buy it soon.

I don't remember if I said this already (I don't think I did), but I bought Dance Dance Revolution: Supernova for the PS2. I actually bought it for my sis for Hannukah (sorry if I didn't spell that right, I don't feel like looking it up), but I thought we could both use it. However, it turns out Lucy does not like playing it, but I do. So, I feel kind of bad getting her something that she doesn't like, but at least it wasn't a waste of money. I love it, I play it everyday. I don't have much coordination, believe me, so I usually stick to the beginning and basic level, but I think I'm getting better as I go along. My favorite option is the work out mode, because you can see how many calories you are burning and also you aren't graded, so if you mess up too much, you don't have to see a "failed" up on the screen. Even though Lucy doesn't like it, I'm glad I got it!


I'm about 80 pages in to "Tommy's Tale". If that doesn't seem like very much, keep in mind I'm a very slow reader. Anyway, I love the book! I can really relate to the characters. I mean there are some differences, but I could definitely be friends with them. I especially relate to the kind of unique way they see things and the fact that they are kind of outsiders, their open mindedness and a lot of the ways that they think about things, particularly Tommy, but he is the main person, so that makes sense. Basically, it feels like Tommy wrote the book. He even mentions pages, like he is aware that someone is reading about his life. It doesn't just feel like he wrote the book, however, it feels like he wrote it specifically for the person who is reading it. So, it feels very personal, like a biography that someone wrote to give to a friend.

Some of it made me think. Tommy wants a kid. It made me think how much I don't.

I think that some people really do want kids, and can handle that responsibility. However, I think some people believe they want kids, and can handle it, but that is not necessarely the case.

Personally, I think anyone who believes they want a kid, whether they are in a relationship or not, should work at Wal*Mart (or some other large department or discount store) for a year. I used to really think I wanted a kid, so much so that I said if I didn't have a kid through a relationship by time I was 30, I would adopt. However, after working at WM, I changed my mind. I realize this is not always practical, or possible, depending on your situation, but if it is, I highly recommend it. Many people don't think about all the problems with kids, they just think about the good things, and the rewards. I'm not saying that's not all true, but there is more and when you see kids crying, whining, cranky, etc., the negative aspects, I think it really brings things into perspective. I'm not even talking about spoiled or bratty kids, sometimes kids just get upset, especially younger kids and don't know how to express themselves, so they whine and cry. If a person can deal with all that and still wants a kid of their own, then they are probably ready, or at least very sure of their feeling, to have a kid.

I, myself, am very glad I don't have a kid. I won't say never, but I do not anticipate ever having a kid. I like the fact that I don't have anyone to depend on me, besides my sister, who is an adult. Yeah, I pay bills and buy food and whatever, but I don't have to change diapers, or put someone through school, or make sure they clean their rooms and get to bed on time, etc.

If other people want that though, it's cool and good, I suppose, since if no one wanted kids the world would be in a bit of a pickle ;)

I haven't read the whole book, so I don't know what happens to Tommy. It seems like he wants a kid more than I thought I did though, like really wants a kid, positives and negatives included. I'll have to see how things go.

Speaking of things I'm glad about, I'm also glad I live on my own. I mean, with my sis, of course, but not anyone with whom I'd have to conform to their rules. I can just be myself, do what I want, watch what I want, say what I want. I like that I clean the house, not because someone tells me I have to, but because I just want to. I know Lucy and I have been on our own for a while, but I don't know that I have expressed my liking of really having a place of our own (maybe I have, but I can't remember, so I'm saying it again). I know the place isn't perfect, our bathroom roof is leaking, the side yard needs work, etc., but it's still ours and we can be ourselves in it. That is a good feeling.

Now for the last thing...

Lucy and I thought we were going to have to give up Sammy. It was getting very hard for Lucy to clean Sammy's cage and him, and I didn't think I could handle it either. We thought we would be ok with giving him up, so we proceeded to contact a small pet adoption place and took him there. Yes, we actually took him there. However, when we got home we both were feeling very guilty. He seemed comfortable enough in his little hut, but he didn't have his castle that he likes to sleep in and he was sharing the place with another, more dominant gp and just didn't seem that happy. I know gps adapt well, but he had been with us for over 2 years and I'm sure he had some idea, in his little gp brain, that things weren't quite right. When we got home, I thought about whether there was an easier way to clean his cage, and I realized there was. I don't know why I didn't think about it before, I guess I was just stressed and thought getting rid of him was the only answer, but it obviously wasn't. Things just weren't the same without Sammy. He is our little buddy, our family and I don't know why we didn't realize that until after we didn't have him. I guess it's like they say in the song "Big Yellow Taxi" and that is "You don't know what you got till it's gone". Yeah, that is true.

Anyway, the good news is I called the place and he was still there. We explained the situation and the lady gave him back to us. I'm so glad he is back home where he belongs. I am never going to make that mistake again. First of all, if I am thinking about getting a pet, I'm going to make sure we can handle it and afford it. I am going to read all the bad, as well as good things about that pet and how to care for it. Once I get the pet, I am not going to give it up unless there is some problem so extreme that it would be bad for both us and the pet, but I do not foresee that happening. Anyway, the main thing is we have our baby boy back and I am glad!


Ok, that's it for now.


yesterday - tomorrow