current
archives
profile
rings
host
image
design

Marriage is love.

DISCLAIMER, PLEASE READ!

catching up again, tv shows and books
02-06-08 - 10:06 p.m.


Feeling: kinda stressed

Watching: Lucy is watching ATU, but I'm not really paying attention

Thinking: Wow, I need to catch up.

I was off the comp. for about a week because something was wrong with the DSL modem. A guy came by and fixed some wires on the outside of the house and it seems to be fine now, thank goodness. After that I was just busy with things and wasn't able to get on, so that's why it's been so long.

I was watching A Daily Show (as they are calling it, I assume because of the strike, like ok we've got one more Daily show under our belts) and Tim Gunn was the guest on there. The caption person was calling him Tim Gund. This struck me as very funny because one, they obviously have no idea who Tim Gunn is, or they wouldn't have mistyped his name, and two, John was clearly saying Gunn, so I don't know how the person who is doing the captioning mis heard. Isn't that person supposed to have good hearing? Oh well. I think Tim is cool. He doesn't sugar coat his feelings about people's designs. I think that's good because he is usually right about what the judges will like and he's obviously helped many people with his opinions. I haven't actually watched Project Run Way in a while. The last ep. I saw was when they all made stuff out of jeans, coincidentally the scene they showed on "A" Daily show. I seem to be cursed with that show. I watch the first few eps. of every season, then something happens and I end up missing most of it, then catch up to it again at the end. I finally end up watching what I missed in re-runs. That has happened with every season so far. I think part of it has to do with the fact that my sister doesn't like that show and she is usually watching something when it's on, so I don't want to bother with asking if I can watch it. Oh well, I'll catch up eventually.

I'm not gonna recap the Atlantis and Flash eps. like I sometimes do, just to save time. There's been 3 eps. since my last post. I will say that I've liked the Flash eps. better than the Atlantis eps. The last couple of Atlantis eps. have been rather boring, and have only dealt with 2 people, I like when everyone is involved to some degree. On Flash, the peolple are rebelling against Ming and they are going to attack his castle, led by Terek. This next ep. is (I believe) the last ep. of the season. I don't think it's doing very well, but I hope it goes to another season.

Ok, on to other things...

One serious thing I wanted to talk about is the death of the actor Heath Ledger. I know that happened on the 22 of Jan., but I didn't get a chance to talk about it on here. I also know that a lot of people who didn't really care about him before were talking about his death on mbs. Some people got annoyed about that, but I understand. I mean it's a shock. Not only was he young, but he was out there, in the spotlight. People saw him in things and all of a sudden he's not there. It's weird to people and they want to vent about it. If River Phoenix had died when the internet was around, it would have been the same thing, I remember everyone was talking about that after it happened.

For my part though, I was not only aware of Heath, he was one of my favorite actors. I first saw him in A Knight's Tale where I proceeded to get a rather large crush on him, but even after that I really respected him as an actor and a person. I got a chance to ask him a question on a message board and he was very friendly, complimenting me and not just answering the question. He was obviously a down to earth person who cared about his fans. I actually wrote a fic based on one of his movies, Two Hands. It is the only fan fic I've ever been able to finish (tried writing an SG-1 fic, but it's pretty much gone by the wayside). I really liked him a lot, so yeah, I was sad to hear that he is gone. It's been a bit of time, so I've pretty much come to terms, but now the sucky thing is seeing all the tabloids at the check out counter. It makes me sick because they don't care about him, all they care about is money and how they can cash in on someone elses misfortune. It's pathetic :(

Ok, onto other, less depressing subjects...

I finished reading Tommy's Tale about a couple of weeks ago. Omg, I love that book! I put Alan as one of my fave authors. I so get Tommy and his way of thinking. The only thing that is different is I don't want kids and I'm not quite as promiscuous and into drugs (thought he does seem to settle down with all that near the end), but many of the things he does and the ways that he thinks about things, it's kind of eerie. I like that I am unique and don't think like most people. I am definitely reading that book again.

Oh yeah, I was wrong about Finn being the one that should be Tommy's kid. I mean, partly wrong. Tommy still wanted a kid of his own, and he ended up having one with Sadie, but not like that, through a turkey baster like thing, ha ha. They have a girl named Daisy, but she isn't born yet by the end of the book, so you don't get to know what she is like, I'm sure she's a sweety though. Finn is like a son to Tommy, but he wanted to have a child that is his, not just be like a father by way of being with someone who has a kid. However, he obviously loves Finn very much, and Charlie and of course Bobby and Sadie.

I wish Alan would write another book, maybe a sequel to Tommy's Tale, but if he is never able to, I'm sure glad he was able to write that one!

I got "Encyclopedia of Unusual Sex Practices" in the mail a few weeks ago. I was saying I'm a sexual person, but I don't just mean I like the pleasure aspect of it (although of course that is nice), I am also fascinated by the psychological and scientific aspect of it. It's the same with religion. It's very interesting to me what people are into, why they do the things they do, what makes them tick, so to speak. So that was mostly why I bought the book.

It is fascinating, however I don't agree with some of the author's comments. There were 3 examples in particular, with which I had a problem:

1. Bisexuality - She gave various reasons for bisexuality, some of which I didn't agree, however, my real problem is that she said that everyone who is bisexual treats one sex as the dominant and one as the submissive. What the hell, does she know every bisexual person? She didn't say some people think that way, she implied that we all do. Well, I don't! I am always submissive, that's just who I am, wether I'm with a girl or a guy. I mean, let me clarify. I think of the partnership as equal, whether it's a guy or girl, I'm no less important than they are. However, when it comes to matters of the bedroom, I like to be on the bottom, regardless of who is on top. So, yeah that irked me.

2. Anal sex - She pretty much said that if you absolutely have to do it, so be it, but really no one ever should because of various problems you can have dealing with sex in that area. Ok, you can clean down there and also there is a thing called a condom that can be used for both anal and vaginal sex. Also, she goes into safe sex practices for vaginal and oral, but for anal she basically skirts around the issue and acts like it is not even something you should attempt. All forms of sex carry risks, but can also be safe and pleasurable.

3. Circumcision - A note before I get to what the author said. I know this can be kind of a controversial issue, especially since it is so prominent in America. I do not agree with circumcision being performed on infants. I do not have anything against people who were circumcised as babies, or people who choose to get it done later. I don't blame the parents, because they usually don't know what the baby goes through and there is so much pressure and so much stress during that time, that it's easy to sign for something with out really knowing what it involves. What I really have a problem with is the fact that there is no definitive proof that there is a good reason for circumcising infants. There are plenty of men who aren't circumcised who lead perfectly healthy lives, with no problems due to the fact that they have a foreskin. Doctors are taking a part of a person's body and that person has no say in the matter. Many guys who are circumcised don't care and might even choose to be if they weren't, but there are guys that wish they hadn't been and they should have had a choice. That is the real problem I have with it, it shouldn't be an automatic thing that just happens to the baby. It's also painful for the baby and that is another thing that frustrates me because again, it is not really necessary. Ok, that was way longer than I meant it to be, but I had a lot to explain I guess.

So, the lady obviously condoned circumcision. She was saying all these things for why it is good and not very much for why it is bad.

All the things I had prolems with were very one sided. She is supposed to be a scientist and be un-biased, but I don't think she did a very good job with some of the subjects. Well, scientists are human and they still have opinions, but I definitely didn't agree with some of hers.

As usual I have more I'd like to say, but it's nothing important, so I'm gonna save it for another day.

That's it for now.

yesterday - tomorrow